Moto Media
James Stewart

David Knight starts defence of British Sprint Enduro title

Underneath all that mud was a lot of orange this weekend with KTM Enduro Factory Racing's David Knight clocking a 1-2 result and leading in a clutch of KTM riders.

While all went well on Day One at the mid-Wales location and Knighter finished of top after eight laps, Day Two had to be called to a halt after just three laps when rain and mud made it even too difficult for these masters of all terrain to continue.

On Sunday it was Britain's KTM rider Tom Sagar that finished first with David 14 second behind after setting the fastest lap time in lap three. This reversed Saturday's result when Sagar was second to Knight, the current title holder. Britain's Greg Evans (KTM) was third on both days. KTM's American rider Mike Brown was scheduled to race but was not at the event.

David Knight - KTM Enduro Factory Team: ‘The first test on day one was going well until I got cross rutted and had a bit of a crash. I got back into the swing of things quickly enough and put in some good times on the next few laps then. As the day went on the track got a little rougher, which suited me better. The rain on the second day changed things a lot. I was trying to get out of the ruts in a lot of places but I'm not sure it was the best thing to do. I tried a few different things on the bike and although I lost some time on the first test I managed to pull most of it back again on the second. It's a little disappointing not to have won the second day but it's been good to ride in conditions that we don't get any more.

The British Sprint Enduro is the first competition of its kind with ten events over five weekends. It is only the second season of the competition, which is open to Enduro, Cross Country and Motocross riders in various categories. Riders must complete one special test of about 10 minutes then repeat it about seven more times. The number of laps is decided according to the length of the special. Riders start at 30 second intervals. As soon as the last rider leaves for lap one, the first rider assembles to leave in lap two. On Day 2, the special test is run in the reverse direction. Riders are on the bikes for approximately 1.5 hours during each race. The series runs until early July.

Results Round 1
1, David Knight, Britain, KTM
2, Tom Sager, Britain, KTM
3, Greg Evans, Britain, KTM
4, Simon Wakely Britain, Husaberg
5, Jamie Lewis, Britain, KTM

Results Round 2
1, Tom Sager, Britain, KTM
2, David Knight, Britain, KTM
3, Greg Evans, Britain, KTM
4, Daryl Bolter, KTM
5, Jamie Lewis, Britain, KTM