Moto Media
James Stewart

New Suzuki GB MX Team Sign Crockard and Pocock

Courtesy Team Suzuki Press Office.

Relentless Suzuki by TAS, which was recently confirmed as the importer's main supported team in the British Superbike Championship, now take on responsibility for Suzuki in the British and Red Bull MX Championships, managed by ex-Grand Prix rider Adam Lyons.

A former British motocross championship rider himself with Suzuki, team owner Philip Neill will also be involved in the day-to-day running of the team and commented: "I'm absolutely delighted to announce our return to motocross and especially pleased to come back with an established performer like Gordon and young talent in the form of Mel. With Adam onboard as Team Manager and the full backing of Suzuki GB, we are excited to be back flying the Suzuki flag in the British Motocross Championship bringing some fresh, tough new competition to the paddock."

Suzuki GB marketing manager George Cheeseman said: "With TAS now our officially supported team in road racing and BSB, it made perfect sense to look to them for our motocross campaign, especially when you consider their experience, expertise and passion for the sport."

Hugely experienced MX1 contender Crockard said: "After a tough couple of seasons, I'm feeling extremely positive for 2011 and looking forward to being able to just concentrate on racing once again. With a strong team like TAS behind me and a great bike like the RM-Z450, it's got to be one of the best shots I've had in a long time at doing something special."

Stepping up as team number-one in MX2, Pocock said: "It's important to feel like you're taking a step forward with a new team and from the moment I met with Philip and Adam, I knew I was dealing with guys that shared the same desire to succeed. The RM-Z250 is acknowledged by most to be the best in its class in standard form and having tested it recently I'm now feeling very optimistic for the season ahead."

The team now prepare for the first round of the Maxxis British Motocross Championship on March 6th at Little Silver in Devon.

Pictured from left: Gordon Crockard, Philip Neill, Adam Lyons and Mel Pocock.