Moto Media

Antonio Cairoli is crowned 2014 FIM MXGP World Champion

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli has just added another FIM Motocross World Championship title to his legend here at MXGP of Goias in Brazil. Although it came easier than he had first anticipated with his only remaining title challenger, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jeremy Van Horebeek crawling to the finish in race one after injuring his ankle in qualifying yesterday, it has still been a hard earned season for the twenty-eight-year-old Italian.

Out of the thirty-one gate drops used to crown Tony 2014 FIM MXGP World Champion, the happy-go-lucky guy from Patti, Italy, had a near fifty percent win rate, winning fifteen of the thirty-one races. Out of the first fifteen rounds of MXGP, Tony landed on the podium a whopping twelve times. The three times he was not on the podium he still finished inside the top five. He also wrapped up nine MXGP round victories this season, extending his career total of Grand Prix wins to seventy-two.

It has been ten years since Tony’s first Grand Prix win, which he obtained on his rookie season riding for De Carli Yamaha back in 2004, a season in which he finished an impressive third overall. The following year, in 2005, he claimed his first world title in MX2, and now, nine years on, he has racked up a stifling eight FIM Motocross World Championship titles and is the second most successful rider in history, behind Belgian Stefan Everts who has ten titles to his name. 

Watch the excitement.

  • First GP raced 2002, GP of Belgium, 125cc
  • World Titles 8 (1 MXGP, 5 MX1, 2 MX2)
  • First World Title 2005, MX2
  • GP wins 72 (9 in MXGP; 39 in MX1; 24 in MX2)
  • First GP win 2004, GP of Wallonie, Namur, MX2
  • Last GP win 2014, MXGP of Belgium, Lommel, MXGP
  • 2014 position in the Championship 1/MXGP; Red Bull KTM Factory Racing