Moto Media

Baggett ends Martin's streak with Moto 2 and Overall

Blake Baggett during Saturday morning's Practice. Photo by Chris Ortiz.

After Blake Baggett exited the second moto last weekend with bike problems, he made it clear that he was determined to break up the Yamaha party sooner rather than later. Thanks to a vintage moto from the 2012 champion and an atypical performance from the points leader, Baggett finally ended Jeremy Martin's winning streak in the second moto at Thunder Valley - taking the moto and securing the overall victory.

For the third time in six motos, the Holeshot went to Zach Bell, but Jason Anderson and Christophe Pourcel were close behind. The trio went back and forth a bit with Bell emerging ahead of Pourcel. Pourcel was persistent though and overtook the young GEICO Honda rider for the lead.

While Bell would fade back through the field, Pourcel would run up front for about ten minutes until Baggett caught him. The Monster Energy/Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider overtook him and then opened up a lead on the field, winning by 6.5 seconds.

Thunder Valley 250 Moto 2 Results

1. Blake Baggett
2. Justin Bogle (-6.5 seconds)
3. Christophe Pourcel
4. Marvin Musquin
5. Jason Anderson
6. Jeremy Martin
7. Cooper Webb
8. Cole Seely
9. Jessy Nelson
10. Justin Hill
11. Matt Bisceglia
12. Matt Lemoine
13. Joey Savatgy
14. Kyle Cunningham
15. Dillan Epstein
16. Alex Martin
17. Brady Kiesel
18. Jacob Baumert
19. Zack Williams
20. Cole Martinez

250 Class Championship Standings

1.     Jeremy Martin, Millville, Minn., Yamaha, 140

2.     Cooper Webb, Morehead City, N.C., Yamaha, 114

3.     Christophe Pourcel, France, Yamaha, 93

4.     Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Kawasaki, 91

5.     Justin Bogle, Cushing, Okla., Honda, 90

6.     Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda, 85

7.     Marvin Musquin, France, KTM, 82

8.     Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., KTM, 81

9.     Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 65

10.  Matt Bisceglia, Weatherford, Texas, Honda, 63