Moto Media

Altherm JCR Yamaha’s title challenge hits halfway stage

As the 2014 Backflips New Zealand Motocross Championship enters its second half, the Altherm JCR Yamaha team look to strengthen their position in the hotly contested series at the popular Harrisville circuit, outside of Pukekohe this Sunday.

Reigning MX2 Champion, Queenstown’s Scott Columb (pictured above) is determined to bounce back from a frustrating Round 2, and regain some crucial points to maintain his challenge for back-to-back national crowns.

"I’ve been working hard with the team at our base near Nelson, maintaining my training regime, and riding with Jay (Wilson),” said Columb. "We’ve made the adjustments, and I’m ready to fight.”

Australian Under 19 MX Champion, Queenslander Jay Wilson – also competing in the MX2 division – wants to continue his strong form as he continues to build toward his debut Lites class campaign in Australia.

"I’ve been putting in a lot of work with Scotty (Columb) training and riding,” explained Wilson. "We have made some minor adjustments to my YZ250F’s suspension so I’m looking forward to Harrisville as it’s quite a technical track which ruts up good, and I love the jumps!”

Altherm JCR Yamaha MX1 contender Billy Mackenzie (pictured above) improved his series ranking to second overall after Round 2 and is keen to build on the momentum and challenge for race wins at Pukekohe aboard the all-new YZ450F.

Team Manager Josh Coppins prefers not to dwell on the previous round’s misfortunes, and has been quick to switch his focus to getting back in the winner’s circle at the Championship halfway stage.

"Tokoroa was tough for us, so now we want to focus on wins at Pukekohe,” said a determined Coppins. "We put ourselves in a difficult position, but we have had a good build up and we will definitely keep fighting”.

Racing begins from 10am, Sunday 9 March at the Harrisville circuit, near Pukekohe.

Championsihp Standings After Round 2


1st – Cody Cooper
2nd – Billy Mackenzie – Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ450F
3rd – Ford Dale

1st – Kayne Lamont
2nd – Hamish Dobbyn
3rd – Scott Columb – Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ250
4th – Jay Wilson – Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ250F

1st – Josiah Natzke
2nd – Hadleigh Knight
3rd – Logan Blackburn – Altherm JCR Yamaha YZ125

To follow the Altherm JCR Yamaha team on Facebook; JoshCoppinsRacing or on Instagram: @joshcoppins

Words and images, Chris Ritchie Foto