Moto Media

The 2013 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations is about to start

The 2013 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations is very much awaited because Team Germany will defend the Chamberlain Trophy on home soil, but team USA, team Belgium or team France – just to mention a few – are thirst of victory and they also want to conquer the so precious Trophy.

The 67th edition of the Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations has forty-one nations entered, which is the highest number of countries entered in the History of the event, with new entries such as Israel, but only the best twenty countries will take part in the final heats on Sunday.

The defending Champions will be racing on home soil in a track they know very well, and they will also count with the support of all the unconditional German fans who will pack Teutschenthal this weekend. However, at the same time they have more pressure than previous years because they want to do well in front of his crowd and try to claim the Trophy back. This year Hubert Nagl will count on the experienced Max Nagl, the talented Ken Roczen and the rookie Dennis Ullrich.

Team Belgium still has the bittersweet feeling of last year’s second position; they were happy to be on the podium but they knew they could have won the event. Consequently, this weekend Joël Smets and his riders, Ken De Dycker, Jeremy Van Horebeek and Clement Desalle, have only one goal, which is going back home with the Chamberlain Trophy. De Dycker is the most experienced rider and he won a Grand Prix in Teutschenthal in 2010, Clement Desalle finished second in the FIM Motocross World Championship and he is at his best shape and Jeremy Van Horebeek will be back on the 250cc after a very strong rookie season on the 450cc.

Team USA finished third last year on the tough and demanding track of Lommel, but this weekend the Americans will be fully motivated to obtain what it would be their 23rd Chamberlain Trophy for Team USA. Roger De Coster has selected Ryan Dungey, who is about to become one of the most experienced American riders in the MXoN, Justin Barcia, whose first MXoN was last year in Lommel, and the rookie Eli Tomac, who has recently been crowned 250cc National American Champion.

Marcel Hartman, Team Manager of The Netherlands, has had to make a last minute decision when Jeffrey Herlings announced that he was not going to race the MXoN. The 2013 MX2 World Champion broke his shoulder blade during the Belgian Grand Prix, but he decided to race his home Grand Prix two weeks ago even if his shoulder was not 100% healed. The doctors have advised Herlings to rest for six weeks, so team The Netherlands will be represented by Marc De Reuver in MX1, GP winner Glenn Coldenhoff in MX2 and Herjan Brakke in the Open class.

The seven-time World Champion Antonio Cairoli will represent Italy one more year in MX1, whereas former World Champion David Philippaerts will race in the Open class and Alessandro Lupino in MX2. This time the Italians are confident they can improve their last year’s fifth place and they believe they can even race for a podium finish.

Last year Team France were not as strong as they normally are and they finished sixth in the standings, but this weekend the public will be able to see a very strong French Team with Gautier Paulin, Jordi Tixier and Christophe Charlier. Paulin always does very well at the MXoN and his experience will help Tixier and Charlier to race two intelligent motos in order to finish among the top three Nations. Tixier has finished second in the FIM Motocross World Championship and Christophe Charlier was fourth.

Team Great Britain, whose last podium was back in 1997 in Nismes, Belgium, can also be one of the teams fighting for a top three finish with Tommy Searle, Jake Nicholls and Shaun Simpson, who won the last Grand Prix of the 2013 FIM MX1 World Championship two weeks ago in Lierop, the Netherlands. The three riders have experience racing the MXoN, so it might be their opportunity to shine and finish among the best Nations.

Team Australia is also a strong team with the young talented riders Dean Ferris and Todd Waters, and the experienced Brett Metcalfe, who helped his country to finish on the podium in 2011 at Saint Jean d’Angely, France.

Team Russia can give a big surprise this weekend, as they count with two top riders, Evgeny Bobryshev and Alexandr Tonkov. Both of them have the possibility to finish among the top five and with Evgeny Mikhaylov’s help they could improve their last year’s eleventh position and enter even the top five.

2013 FIM MX3 World Champion Klemen Gercar will race for Slovenia one more time and he hopes to finish among the top ten together with Tim Gajser and Irt Matevz.

By clicking here you will be able to download the complete entry list of the 2013 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations.

Free Practice MX1 10:00; Free practice MX2 11:00; Free Practice Open 12:00; Qualifying Heat MX1 14:30; Qualifying Heat MX2 15:30; Qualifying Heat Open 16:30; Youthstream MX Awards 20:00.

Sunday: Warm-up B-Final 8:40; Warm-up MXoN Group 1 9:10; Warm-up MXoN Group 2 9:40; B-Final 11:00; MXoN Race 1 (MX1+MX2) 13:08; MXoN Race 2 (MX2+Open) 14:38; MXoN Race 3 (MX1+Open) 16:08.