Moto Media

2013 Monster Energy MX Nationals go down to the wire at Coolum

MX1: Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Matt Moss holds a commanding 25-point lead entering the season finale, fresh from winning Toowoomba’s penultimate round last weekend.

Queenslander Todd Waters (Motorex KTM) led the series through the first six rounds, before Moss seized the lead at round seven last month. Since then he’s won consecutive rounds at Swan Hill and Toowoomba.

Currently third in the series and a further 41 points in arrears is Billy Mackenzie (CDR Yamaha), the Byron Bay-based Scotsman still a mathematical outside chance at the championship.

The race for fifth in the standings will be an intriguing one between New Zealand champion Cody Cooper (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) and in-form rookie Kirk Gibbs (Motorex KTM), as just three points separates the pair.

MX2: Serco Yamaha’s Luke Styke clinched the Motul MX2 title last weekend at Toowoomba with his eighth win in nine rounds, and this weekend he’ll be on double duty with a guest appearance in the MX1 category as well.

Challenging Styke in the MX2 ranks for the weekend will be rookie wonder Kale Makeham (Tune Tech Racing KTM) and Sunshine Coast revelation Brock Winston (Choice Motorsports KTM). The trio sit 1-2-3 in the standings entering the weekend.

MXD: The Pirelli MXD ranks will also go down to this weekend’s finale, as Kiwi Hamish Harwood (CMR KTM) leads Toowoomba winner Jay Wilson (GYTR Yamaha) by a comfortable margin of 53 points. Wilson sits just five points ahead of former series leader Jack Simpson (KTM).

Supporting acts this weekend will include the KTM 2-Stroke Cup, two Veterans categories (30 to 39 years and 40-plus years), and the Yamaha Pro Quads to be contested over two action-packed days of competition commencing at 8:30am.

Monster Energy MX1 championship standings (after nine of 10 rounds):  Red highlights the Kiwis
1. Matt Moss 582
2. Todd Waters 557
3. Billy Mackenzie 516
4. Cody Cooper 478
5. Kirk Gibbs 475
6. Jake Moss 444
7. Lawson Bopping 407
8. Jay Marmont 383
9. Adam Monea 376
10. Sam Martin 294

Motul MX2 championship standings (after nine of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 613
2. Kale Makeham 504
3. Brock Winston 472
4. Ryan Marmont 398
5. Dylan Long 389
6. Takeshi Katsuya 362
7. Rhys Carter 351
8. Geran Stapleton 349
9. Kayne Lamont 347
10. Josh Cachia 305

Pirelli MXD championship standings (after seven of eight rounds):
1. Hamish Harwood 439
2. Jay Wilson 386
3. Jack Simpson 381
4. Jesse Dobson 353
5. Corey James 336
6. Joel Dinsdale 325
7. Joel Wightman 317
8. Jake Emanuelli 279
9. Logan Blackburn 255
10. Dakota Court 223