Moto Media
James Stewart

Zach Osborne crowned as Champion after Hawkstone wash-out.

Edited copy and photos courtesy of Bike it Cosworth Yamaha.

The American carried a 47 point lead in the last event (just 75 remained up for grabs) after owning five of the previous seven rounds and snatching thirteen chequered flags on his Cosworth powered YZ250F from a possible twenty-one. Unrelenting rainfall initially caused a delay to the race programme in Shropshire before the ACU were forced to annul the meeting with sections of the sandy track impassable due to flooding.

The British squad, who were able to see Osborne finish fourth in the 2010 FIM MX2 World Championship – the best standing for the crew on the international MX2 stage – toasted their success under the rain-pattered awning. Aside from Osborne’s achievement, team-mate in the MX2 class Mel Pocock was able to register his top ranking on the domestic scene with 5th overall and two podium finishes. In MX1 Jason Dougan was 4th on the YZ450F with one piece of silverware from his first year with Britain’s stand-out off-road motorcycle racing team.

"I’m over the moon," said Osborne. "Even though this was not the end that we were expecting I’m still really pleased to have completed my first full season with this title and being fourth in the FIM World Championship. I think I deserved the British Championship after thirteen moto wins and part of this is down to the excellent work by the team and in providing a competitive bike and the right environment from which we could get these results. We will have a good night out on Wednesday and then I’ll head home to think about my preparation to be even better in 2011."

"What a week! After the excitement of nearly being on the podium last week at the Motocross of Nations and then for Zach and team Bike It Cosworth Yamaha to win the MX2 British title really was the icing on the cake,” commented Team Manager Steve Dixon. "The team have worked so hard for this championship together with all the support of Bike It, Cosworth, Yamaha UK, Brenmar, Wild Wolf, and all our other fantastic sponsors, and with the excellent technical input from Cosworth in such a short space of time this result is even more rewarding.”

"Zach's mechanic, Nick Matthews, has been outstanding this year and so has the engine preparation from Micheal Whitewick,” he added. "It takes a whole team of good people to win a championship and this year we had the right combination to enable Zach to win for us. Zach has ridden really well this year both in the world championship and also at home and thoroughly deserves the title; his results put him clear of any other rider. It was weird when the meeting was cancelled as we were so pumped to go for the win today, it was hard to get celebrations on the way but that didn't take long!"

Mechanic Nick Matthews, Team Owner Steve Dixon and Osborne.           Zach Osborne sprays Team Owner Steve Dixon. 

MX2 Final Standings 

1. Zach Osborne (452); 2. Jake Nicholls (405); 3. Martin Barr (350); 4. Elliot Banks-Browne (314); 5. Mel Pocock (288); 6. Kriatian Whatley (273); 7. Neville Bradshaw (245); 8. Shane Carless (242); 9. Matiss Karro (238); 10. Alan Keet (186)

MX1 Final Standings
1. Evgeny Bobryshev (463); 2. Stephen Sword (430); 3. Brad Anderson (386); 4. Jason Dougan (319); 5. Gareth Swanepoel (270); 6. Gordon Crockard (267); 7. Tom Church (265); 8. James Noble (230); 9. Alex Snow (216); 10. Carl Nunn (165)