Moto Media
James Stewart

Courtney Duncan clean sweeps Australian female 85cc Class.

Edited copy and photo courtesy of Erin Lagoudakis for Motorcycling Australia.

In the Female 85cc/150cc 12-u16 yearsClass, Kiwi star Courtney Duncan appeared to have her work cut out for her in the final race after a crash in the first lap pushed her into last place. The young-gun powered on and within two laps had re-claimed the lead and then proceeded to lap other riders before taking the flag. Duncan made it a clean-sweep, earning her the Championship Title while Aitken sat in second place 17 points behind with New South Wales’ Tayla Jones was back in third place.

In the other Female Class 100/150-200/150 13 to Under 16 years class, New South Welshwoman Meghan Rutledge continued her domination, winning the final race with nearly 30 seconds to spare ahead of state compatriots Mackenzie Tricker and Micayla Aitken.

In the 85cc 2 stroke 14 to Under 16 years class, Queensland’s Scott Mann, who came into the final race with a 21 point lead, rode safely to finish in eighth place, securing the Title win ahead of Victorian Tristan Cachia and New South Welshman Luke Arnold.

In the 100-150cc 2 Stroke 15 years class, Victorian rider Dylan Long, came into the race with only a four point lead, while second and third places were tied on points.

It was American riders Joey Savatgy, and Queensland’s Jackson Richardson who stole the show in their epic battle for points and places on the podium, with Long stuck back in third place. At the flag, the US rider had held off a final charge from Richardson, to take the win and the Title by one point ahead of Long.

New South Welshman Luke Clout, continued his domination of the 150cc 14 to Under 16 years class, winning every single race – earning top points ahead of Victorian rider Branden Billings and Queensland’s Dakota Court who came second and third respectively.

Victorian rider Wayde Carter had a massive lead coming into Saturday’s race and rode to a safe second place, securing him the Title ahead of Queensland’s Richard Evans and South Australian rider Aaron Hart. 

As the 9 to Under 12 years 150cc class wrapped up it was second placed Queenslander Hunter Lawrence who won the final race, while New South Welshman Jordan Hill finished the race in second place – enough to secure the Championship win. 

Wilson Todd (QLD) continued his strong form winning the final race of the 65cc 11 to Under 13 years class, and taking the Championship Title, ahead of Queensland rider Mitchell Evans and New South Wales’ David Ustariz.

And finally it was New South Wales’ Rhys Budd who took out the 65cc 7 to Under 9 years class ahead of fellow new South Welshmen Kodie De Carlo and local Laine Parkins.