Moto Media
James Stewart

Dungey and Rattray win at Southwick.

Edited copy courtesy of Brandon Short from Alli Sports

The Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship returned to action on Saturday with the Rockstar Energy Southwick National presented by Traxxas, Round 10 of the 12-race season, from Moto-X 338 in Southwick, Mass.

Keeping up with the dominating trend he's set this season, Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey raced to his ninth consecutive 450 Class victory by sweeping the day's motos and in the process, secured the premier class title with two rounds remaining.

In the 250 Class, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Tyla Rattray, of South Africa, captured his second career victory.

Coming into the day with a 111-point advantage, Dungey needed to leave Southwick with at least a 100-point lead to capture the championship. While misfortune struck his closest rival, Honda Red Bull Racing's Andrew Short. Texas, Dungey encountered a stiff challenge from GEICO Powersports Honda's Brett Metcalfe, of Australia, who also had a mathematical shot at the championship lead in third. Despite the effort of his competitor, Dungey prevailed to take Moto 1 on the final lap and went on to dominate Moto 2.

Ryan Dungey raced to his ninth consecutive overall victory and collected his 10th and 11th straight moto wins. Courtesy Steve Cox/Racer X

"Yeah it's kind of sunk in," said Dungey. "It's still pretty incredible and a dream come true but it really feels great to accomplish (the championship). I never thought I'd achieve all this at 20 (years of age). The whole season has gone by so fast and it's all kind of a blur. I've just tried to take advantage of all the opportunities given to me because I know it can all go away at any moment."

The event win and series title are historic feats for the 20-year-old rookie, who tied series legend Ricky Carmichael for the most wins ever by a rookie while also becoming the first rookie in the history of the sport to win both the premier AMA Supercross and AMA Motocross championships in the same season.

Dungey's championship is the conclusion of a historic season in which he became the first premier class rookie to win the AMA Supercross and AMA Motocross titles. Courtesy Steve Giberson/

Jagermeister KTM's Mike Alessi finished in the runner-up spot (3-4) for his second podium finish of the season while MotoConcepts Yamaha's Matt Goerke finished third (6-3), one year after claiming his first career victory at Moto-X 338.

Dungey's lead now sits at 151 points over Short as he continues his pursuit of the most successful rookie season in AMA Motocross history. He also leads the division in average finish at 1.9 and laps led with 157.

Rattray took his first career victory on U.S. soil at the third round of the season and since then has used 2010 as a breakthrough season. Throughout both motos, the South African was able take advantage of strong starts and challenged for the lead in each, but settled for a pair of runner-up efforts to secure the overall. The day was made extra special for Rattray with the birth of his first daughter earlier in the morning.

Tyla Rattray celebrated the birth of his daughter with his second career 250 Class win. Courtesy Kawasaki MC USA via Tom McGovern.

"Today was a tough day but I got my second overall win just like my first, by going 2-2," said Rattray. "The sand is difficult but I seem to thrive in it. I have been looking forward to Southwick most of the summer and to come here and ride like I did is fantastic. This is something I will always remember, winning on my daughter's birthday."

GEICO Powersports Honda's Justin Barcia capitalised on a win in Moto 2 to grab second overall (4-1) while his teammate Trey Canard  saw his four race win streak come to an end in third (1-9).

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki's Christophe Pourcel leads the 250 Class standings by 13 points over Canard with two rounds remaining. Canard holds the best average finish in the class at 4.1 while Pourcel has led the most laps with 101.

The Women's Motocross Championship also returned to action with Round 6 of the eight-race season. Current series points leader Jessica Patterson captured her fifth overall win for DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha (2-1) while Honda Red Bull Racing's Ashley Fiolek finished second (1-2) with Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda's Tarah Gieger in third (3-3).

The 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship heads to the penultimate round of the season next weekend with the FMF Steel City National from Steel City Raceway in Delmont, Pa., on Saturday, 04 September.

450 Class (Moto Finish)
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1)
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (3-4)
Matt Goerke, Lake Helen, Fla., Yamaha (6-3)
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (4-6)
Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda (7-5)
Nick Wey, DeWitt, Mich., Kawasaki (8-9)
Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (34-2)
Tommy Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Suzuki (2-32)
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (14-7)
Dan Reardon, Australia, Yamaha (13-11)

450 Class Championship Standings
Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 468
Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 317
Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 314
Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 273
Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 271
Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 260
Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 216
Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 201
Ryan Sipes, Vine Grove, Ky., Yamaha, 194

250 Class (Moto Finish)
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (2-2)
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (4-1)
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (1-9)
Wil Hahn, Decatur, Texas, Honda (3-5)
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (7-3)
Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (5-4)
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda (6-7)
Gareth Swenapoel, South Africa, Yamaha (10-6)
Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha (11-8)
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (8-11)

250 Class Championship Standings
Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 399
Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 386
Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 364
Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 363
Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 291
Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 262
Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 259
Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 232
Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 210
Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 195

WMX Class (Moto Finish)
Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (2-1)
Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda (1-2)
Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda (3-3)
Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki (4-7)
Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha (6-5)
Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha (5-6)
Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM (11-4)
Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha (8-8)
Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha (9-9)
Julie Anne Parizek, Willington, Conn., Kawasaki (10-10)

WMX Class Championship Standings (After 6 of 8 Rounds)
Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha, 288
Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda, 266
Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda, 229
Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha, 190
Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki, 180
Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM, 176
Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha, 169
Alexah Pearson, Rocklin, Calif., Yamaha, 138
Tatum Sik, Temecula, Calif., Yamaha, 135
Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha, 113