Moto Media
James Stewart

2011 Honda Australian Junior MX Nationals this weekend

One sleep until the 2011 Honda Australian Junior MX.  Junior Motocross riders from across the country are making their final preparations for the 2011 Honda Australian Junior Motocross Championship, which will rev into gear at Murray Bridge in South Australia tomorrow.

On the 680 confirmed entries list is 9 New Zealanders. 

  1. Kurtis Lilly
  2. Hamish Harwood
  3. James Anderson
  4. Hadleigh Knight
  5. Cohen Chase
  6. Wyatt Chase - I'm told he has broken his femur 4 days before they left doing BMX
  7. Dion Picard
  8. Joshua Mead?  - don't know that name?
That makes 7 plus also gone is Sean O'Connor and Haki Waller, total of 10 that we know of.

Amongst the Aussies is 2010 Champion Hayden Mellross, who is in his final year as a Junior and getting ready to take to the grid for his last Aussie Junior MX. The New South Wales rider impressed in 2010 when he took the 13-U15 200-250cc crown and will step up this year to tackle to 15 years 250cc and 125cc classes.

The Honda rider is looking forward to the challenge, and making the most of his last performance at the Australian Junior MX.

"I’m really looking forward to the 250cc 15 year class as this is my last year as a Junior,” Mellross said. "I am feeling pretty good as I have just come back from eight months at the Millsaps Training Facility in America, and am looking forward to riding at the Monarto Track even though I have only ever been on it once. I’m really looking forward to competing and striving to obtain the best results in appreciation to my sponsors this year and especially Honda and Glenn Bell. Also, this being my last year as a Junior is going to be really emotional as I have never missed an Australian title since I was five years old so it is sort of like the end of an era and the beginning of my next stage by stepping up.”

Mellross will be joined in Murray Bridge by a brilliant line up of Junior Motocross riders for an action-packed week of riding and competition.

The 2011 Championship will be hosted by the Murray Bridge Sporting Car and Motorcycle Club at the Monarto Motocross Track in South Australia from 1-8 October.

For more information on the event and for all the latest news and results make sure to visit or the event site at