Moto Media

from ... Chad Reed

The Australian, who defied the odds to assemble his own small yet committed team six weeks out from the first event, took his team to 11 podiums, including two wins and incredibly finished a very close second in the championship.

It was a series that had everything – five different series leaders, six riders stood on the top step of the dais and four riders vying for the title coming into the final round.

In the end just 4 points separated Reed and eventual series Champion Ryan Villopoto.

Chad Reed: "We gave it all we had. I feel totally blessed this season. Congrats to Ryan, (Villopoto) he earned the championship. He had the most wins this season and to come back from what he went through last year, he has my respect. We did all we can and sometimes, you come up short. The last race certainly lived up to the hype of the whole season but we came into this round behind the eightball and it was a long shot. All I could do was try and win the race.

Just making the startline in January was a massive achievement so really, to be in a position where we have had the speed to compete for the title up to the very last round was pretty special and I can’t thank my team enough.”

Earlier in the evening, Reed was awarded the Bret Michaels "Rock Hard-Ride Hard” Award which honours the hardest charging, comeback Supercross rider who ultimately proves to push the limits in a quest towards winning the Monster Energy Supercross championship.

The award was presented to the TwoTwo Motorsports rider, after the former champion came just four points shy of his third title in his inaugural foray into the world of team ownership.

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Results: Las Vegas

1.Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda
2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki
3. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
4. Chris Blose, Phoenix, Ariz., Kawasaki
5. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
6. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki
7. Austin Stroupe, Lincolnton, N.C., Yamaha
8. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha
9. Kyle Regal, Murrieta, Calif, Yamaha
10. Tye Simmonds, Menifee, Calif., KTM

Monster Energy AMA Supercross Season Standings

1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 338
2.Chad Reed, Tampa, Fla., Honda – 334
3. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 328
4. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Yamaha – 301
5. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda – 255
6. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM – 230
7. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda – 207
8. Davi Millsaps, Carlsbad, Calif., Yamaha – 180
9. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C, Yamaha – 155
10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Yamaha – 152

Chad Reed and TwoTwo Motorsports are proudly supported by Bel-Ray, Honda Motorcycles, Shift, Etnies, Skull Candy, Alpine Stars, Fox, Pro Circuit, Factory Effex, Showa, Dunlop, Renthal, DT1 Airfilters, D.I.D, Hinson Clutches, VP Race Fuels, Cycra, Matrix, Braking, LightSpeed, Talon and JStar Motors.