Moto Media
James Stewart

Round 2 - NZ Motocross Champs at Rotorua this Sunday

Shaun Fogarty cracked his collarbone at Round 1 in Timaru and has now withdrawn from the Championship.  Riding for the CMR Race Team, Fogarty (aka Fogdog), was the only rider competing in two classes - Senior 125 and MX1.  He will not be replaced in the 125 class but in MX1, Blake Gillard will take over his ride as he did at Patetonga.  Gillard was already on the Team Motor Group (TMG) KTM350 and at Round 2 Patetonga he showed he can compete with the 'factory' riders.  

MX DK Rockstar Yamaha's Josh Coppins leads MX1 by just 6 points from Team Power Balance Suzuki’s Cody Cooper at the halfway stage of the Demon Energy New Zealand Motocross Championships, with Mike Phillips (Honda Hamilton) only 8 behind.

The Rotorua MCC's track is just off the State Highway to Tokoroa and is on the family farm of Mike Phillips who will have an advantage but Coppins, Cooper and defending Champion Justin McDonald (Timaru Honda - 30 points behind) are amongst the best in Australasia.

Cooper won the previous round at Patetonga and was on the podium at Broadford last Sunday having won the last two of four races in the mud.  Don't discount Mason Phillips (Fly Team Green Kawasaki) or Hayden Clark (MX DK Rockstar Yamaha) from a Rotorua podium. 

MX2 Class has two Australian visitors running at the sharp end. Cody Mackie (Honda) and Daniel McCoy (Suzuki).  MX DK Rockster Yamaha boss Darryll King, who at 42 years leads the Class by just 3 points. 

You make your own luck but Luke Burkhart (CMR Race Team - KTM) has been very unlucky with injury.  At Timaru his wrist hampered his results in the first two races. An ankle injury resulted in a DNF in Moto 1 at Patetonga but was followed up by a 2nd and then a very, very good 1st.  A betting man would like the odds on Burga winning.  Only 4 points behind him is Peter Broxholme (Botany Honda).

There is a wealth of talent in this Class.  Down at 9th is Kayne Lamont but he is now with his new ride in England.

Senior 125:

In the 125cc class Ethan Martens (MX DK Rockstar Yamaha) has won five of the six races at the half-way point.  With Shaun Fogarty's withdrawal comes news that another front runner is also out.   Talented Under 21's contender Dion Picard (Suzuki) has spent a week in hospital after an accident last Friday.  He endo'd off the bike in a practice session and the bike landed on him. Not only popped an AC joint but had a split spleen with internal bleeding. 

Scott Barr-Smith (KTM), Cam Negus (Yamaha), Tom Managh (Suzuki) and Josh Jack (Suzuki) will battle for the podium.  Evan Hood (Fly Team Green Kawasaki) is coming to grips with Mike Cotter's bike and moved into 6th in the Under 21's.