Moto Media

Reed wins 40th Anniversary Monster Energy Supercross at Anaheim 2

Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed became the third different rider in as many races to win a Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race this season inside Angel Stadium in front of 40,682 fans. Saturday night’s race was the "40th Anniversary Celebration Race” of Monster Energy Supercross. After finishing second at the first two races of the Western Regional 250SX Class Championship, Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil/Honda’s Cole Seely won his first Main Event of the season.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey set the pace early by winning the Nuclear Cowboyz® Holeshot Award to start the 450SX Class Main Event. Team Mafia Moto Crew Kawasaki’s Nick Wey trailed Dungey through turn one in second place. On the opening lap, three-time defending Monster Energy Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto put his Monster Energy Kawasaki into third place while Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen pulled onto Villopoto’s back wheel in fourth. Roczen then passed Villopoto to take over third place.

 The former champions celebrate the 40th Anniversary Celebration Race. Credit: Chris Weedon

While leading on Lap 6, Dungey crashed and dropped to fifth place, giving the lead to Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart. Villopoto bounced back to pass Roczen for the number-two position and set his sights on Stewart. On Lap 14, Villopoto attempted to pass Stewart and crashed, losing several positions.

The crash by Villopoto allowed Roczen to move into second place and Reed to third place. The next lap, Reed passed Roczen for second and two laps later, he passed Stewart for the lead and eventual win. Stewart finished second and Roczen finished third.

Reed raced to his first win of the season. Credit: Chris Weedon

"I had 41 of these [wins] before tonight, and they came a hell of a lot easier than this one,” said Reed. "I am so proud and could not have done this without the hard work from my Discount Tire team. We all worked so hard in the off season, and it paid off in a big way tonight. I am so pumped.”

"The track was tight tonight,” said Stewart. "We had two veterans finish one and two tonight, so that was great. Overall, I am proud of my race tonight.”

This was Reed’s first win since January 21, 2012 in Los Angeles’ Dodger Stadium and the 42nd of his career. It was also his first win in Anaheim since February 2, 2008 when he won all three races at the venue.

Roczen reclaimed the points lead with Villopoto trailing by a point. Reed moved into third place.

450SX Class Results: Anaheim 2

  1. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki
  2. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki
  3. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM
  4. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha
  5. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki
  6. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM
  7. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Suzuki
  8. Josh Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Suzuki
  9. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM
  10. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki

 450SX Class Season Standings

  1. Ken Roczen, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 60
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki, 59
  3. Chad Reed, Dade City, Fla., Kawasaki, 57
  4. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 57
  5. Justin Brayton, Cornelius, N.C., Yamaha, 55
  6. James Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Suzuki, 44
  7. Justin Barcia, Pinetta, Fla., Honda, 42
  8. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, KTM, 38
  9. Wil Hahn, Menifee, Calif., Honda, 30
  10. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 26

Western Regional 250SX Class

Yamalube/Star Racing/Yamaha’s Cooper Webb jumped out to the early lead with the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award in the Western Regional 250SX Class Main Event with Seely and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson following in second and third, respectively. Seely snuck around Webb shortly after turn one. On Lap 3, Wilson crashed and re-entered the race in 15th place. Wilson’s crash allowed Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson to move into third place.

 Seely takes home his first win of 2014. Credit: Chris Weedon

Anderson passed Webb on Lap 8 to secure second place, 5.7 seconds behind Seely. Seely held on for the win, followed by Anderson and Webb. Tonight was the first career podium finish for Webb, who is a rookie this year.

"It was an awesome night for our team,” said Seely. "We have done so much testing before and during the season and spent countless hours at the track, so it is nice to have the hard work pay off. I had some breathing room on the last lap, which was nice. We are going to keep the momentum going headed into next week.”

The win was Seely’s fourth of his career and he trails Anderson in season standings by three points.

Monster Energy Supercross heads to Oakland’s Coliseum next Saturday, 25 January, for the fourth race of the 2014 season.

250SX Class Results: Anaheim 2

  1. Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda
  2. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM
  3. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha
  4. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda
  5. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki
  6. Shane McElrath, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda
  7. Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki
  8. Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda
  9. Michael Leib, Menifee, Calif., Honda
  10. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda

250SX Class Season Standings

  1. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M., KTM, 72
  2. Cole Seely, Lake Elsinore, Calif., Honda, 69
  3. Zach Osborne, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda, 53
  4. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C., Yamaha, 51
  5. Dean Wilson, Wesley Chapel, Fla., Kawasaki, 50
  6. Malcolm Stewart, Haines City, Fla., Honda, 47
  7. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore., Kawasaki, 44
  8. Jessy Nelson, Paso Robles, Calif., Honda, 35
  9. Dean Ferris, Murrieta, Calif., KTM, 31
  10. Shane McElrath, Chesterfield, S.C., Honda, 29